The Mines and Geosciences Bureau Regional Office No. XIII, together with national line agencies and non-government organizations as Appropriate Experts, continued to deliberate over the 2016 Annual Social Development and Management Program (ASDMP) of Caraga mining companies on April 20 to 22, 2016 at the MGB Training Center in Surigao City.

The deliberations of the ASDMP were done in cluster with the objective that there will be no duplication of Projects/Programs/Activities (PPAs) and double charging of PPAs to the mining companies with common communities.  On the same note, the cluster deliberations aim to promote transparency and social responsibility.  Four cluster deliberations were conducted last March 8 to 11, 2016.

Engr. Alilo C. Ensomo, Jr., MGB XIII Regional Director, has laid emphasis on the SDMP as a sustainable development program intended for the general welfare of mining communities and thereby improves the quality of life of the marginalized and disadvantaged families in the host and neighboring communities. The SDMP works towards the creation of responsible, self-reliant and resource-based communities capable of developing, implementing and managing community development programs, projects, and activities in a manner consistent with the principle of people empowerment.

The activity has streamlined and enhanced the SDMP through community empowerment by equipping them with attitude, skills and knowledge (ASK) to achieve a virtuous cycle of economic independence.

Appropriate Experts from the following national line agencies, academe, religious sector and non-government organizations took part in the comprehensive evaluation and discussion for the enhancement of the Social Development and Management Program of Caraga mining companies:

  1. Department of Agriculture (DA) – Caraga Regional Office
  2. Department of Tourism (DOT) – Caraga Regional Office
  3. Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) – Caraga Regional Office
  4. Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) – Caraga Regional Office
  5. Department of Science and Technology (DOST) – Caraga Regional Office
  6. Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) – Caraga Regional Office
  7. National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) – Caraga Regional Office
  8. Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) – Caraga Regional Office
  9. Diocese of Surigao
  10. Religious Sectors of Agusan del Sur
  11. Provincial Planning and Development Office of the Province of Dinagat Islands
  12. Provincial Planning and Development Office of Agusan del Sur
  13. MLGU through the Municipal Planning and Development Offices of Loreto, Cagdianao, Basilisa, and Libjo, Province of Dinagat Islands and Rosario and Bunawan, Agusan del Sur
  14. Reach Foundation, Inc. (NGO)
  15. PhilGrassroots (NGO)
  16. St. Paul University Surigao

After the cluster deliberations, the MGB XIII Regional Director approved the ASDMP of the following mining companies as endorsed by the Appropriate Experts:

Mining Companies                                                                                Date of Approval

  1. Cagdianao  Mining Corporation                                                      April 20, 2016
  2. Libjo Mining Corporation/Westernshore Nickel Corp.              April 20, 2016
  3. Oriental Vision Mining Philippines Corporation                          April 20, 2016
  4. Aam-Phil Natural Resources Exploration & Dev’t. Corp. – 2B   April 20, 2016
  5. Wellex Mining Corporation – Area 1                                                April 20, 2016
  6. Wellex Mining Corporation – Area 2                                               April 20, 2016
  7. Aam-Phil Natural Resources Exploration & Dev’t. Corp. – 1      April 21, 2016
  8. Century Peak Corporation – Casiguran                                          April 21, 2016
  9. Century Peak Corporation – Rapid                                                  April 21, 2016
  10. Krominco Inc.                                                                                       April 21, 2016
  11. Oriental Synergy Mining Corp.                                                         April 21, 2016
  12. Sinosteel Phils. HY Mining Corporation                                         April 21, 2016
  13. Philsaga Mining Corporation                                                            April 22, 2016
  14. Mindanao Mineral Processing & Refining Corp.                           April 22, 2016